Color Me Rad, Like the Colors of the Wind

Ye gods. I don’t know why I ever make promises to myself, because I always break them. I knew as I was writing it that I never should’ve said in my last post that I planned to write shorter posts and more often. It was essentially like cursing myself to ensure I did not do that.
I didn’t realize just how long it’d been since I’d last blogged. To be pathetically honest, I can’t seem to keep track of the date/day since I finished school and quit working, so I was very surprised to realize it was already May 17.
But, I have an excuse. It’s sports. I’ve been deeply involved in the NBA playoffs, which sadly came to an end last night for my Oklahoma City Thunder. It was a very disappointing, upsetting ending to an otherwise amazing season. But I want to speak no more of it. It has consumed much of my free time lately, and now it’s over, and we’re looking towards next year (of course). My other great love, the English Premier League, is also wrapping up its season, and I’ve been anxiously watching to see if my team, Tottenham, will finish in the top four and make it to the Champions League (which consists of the top four teams from most of the leagues around Europe). It’s not looking great right now, but there’s still a chance.
Oh, sports. I invest so much in you, and yet so often have my heart broken.
But I don’t want you to think I’ve been doing nothing but watching sports. I’ve also been wasting an immense amount of time on the internet. Like, it’s been bad. But, be proud of me. I’ve also been getting significant work done on one of my novels. One of the main things I’ve learned since I started working on books is that writing a romance novel is way more difficult than reading one. Go figure, right?
Now, on to one of the big, exciting things I have done since graduating. You may remember one of my very first posts was about me signing up for the Color Me Rad 5K, which I did last summer and absolutely loved. On May 11, I got the chance to do it again. The weather was ridiculously beautiful (since we were doing it in May this year instead of July like last year), we ran in a later wave so I didn’t have to get up as early, and I was with three of my favorite people in the world. It was, quite simply, a blast. So now, much like I was bombarded with handfuls of colored corn starch, I will bombard you with some of my favorite pictures from the day (all taken by my friend Tiffany).

Here we are after the first two or three color bombing stations. (LtoR) Kasey, Rachel, me, Tiffany.

Here we are after the first two or three color bombing stations. (LtoR) Kasey, Rachel, me, Tiffany. I am noticeably the shortest, as always.

Myself and my friend Kasey showing off our sweet capes we bought to wear during the run (They were once children's aprons from the dollar store).

Myself and my friend Kasey showing off our sweet capes we bought to wear during the run, because we are superheroes (They were once children’s aprons from the dollar store).

We paused during the run to snap this, probably my favorite group picture of the day.

We paused during the run to snap this, probably my favorite group picture of the day.

After the run!

After the run!

We were frantically slapping on temporary tattoos minutes before we were supposed to start running, and with one extra my sister goes, "Hey! Put it on your neck!" And for some reason I thought that was a great idea, so I did.

We were frantically slapping on temporary tattoos minutes before we were supposed to start running, and with one extra left, my sister goes, “Hey! Put it on your neck!” And for some reason I thought that was a great idea, so I did.

Tiffany and I! She had a blue hitler mustache hahaha

Tiffany and I! She had a blue hitler mustache hahaha

My big sister, Rachel, in her snazzy sunglasses afterwards.

My big sister, Rachel, in her snazzy sunglasses afterwards.

Kasey and I. Two year participants in the run now!

Kasey and I. Two year participants in the run now!

It was concluded that I got the most color to the face by far.

It was concluded that I got the most color to the face by far. It’s because I was the most dedicated, just sayin’.

Hahaha I love this, I'm not going to lie.

Hahaha I love this, I’m not going to lie.

So as you should be able to see from the pictures, the Color Me Rad 5K is a fantastic time all around, and you get free sunglasses and a free t-shirt (which is super cute, by the way). A portion of all the proceeds also goes to a local charity, the one for OKC was for cystic fibrosis. You just can’t beat that.
I would also like to point out our amazing team name, Colors of the Wind, thought up by myself and my sister last year when Kasey and I did this for the first time. Be jealous, but YOU CAN’T HAVE OUR NAME OKAY. Also, I painted all of those shirts except Kasey’s. I know you can’t tell what they look like originally because we didn’t take a picture beforehand (silly of us), but they were awesome and I spent hours making them.
COLORS OF THE WIND 4EVAAAAA!!!!

Do svidaniya,
Sara

PS I went with Russian for goodbye today because I am really wanting to watch some Anastasia. It’s the best when she stomps the magic thing and says that to Rasputin (spoiler alert).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What sayest thou?

